August 2011 News:
An interdisciplinary team of five Georgia Tech faculty from Electrical and Computer Engineering, Biology, and Mechanical Engineering has been awarded a $3M National Science Foundation grant (NSF 1110947) entitled “Fundamentals of Molecular Nano-Communication Networks.”    Led by PI Prof. Ian Akyildiz (ECE), with co-PI’s Profs. Faramarz Fekri (ECE), Craig Forest (ME), Brian Hammer (Bio), and Raghupathy Sivakumar (ECE), the team will undertake a 4 year effort (2011-2015) to model, simulate, and experimentally validate with bacteria the fundamental limits and protocols for molecular communication.  The grant was awarded through the Computer and Network Systems (CNS) program within the Directorate for Computer & Information Science and Engineering (CISE) at the National Science Foundation.